The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

“As he read, I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.” The book I chose to read for my English Composition class was The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. This book was so amazing that I finished it in 13 hours. The main character, Hazel, is told by her mother that she is depressed and to attend a cancer patient support group that she isn’t interested in. While she’s there, she makes some new friends but one guy stands out to her: Augustus Waters. He came to the support group to support his friend, Isaac, who has retinoblastoma, a type of cancer that develops from the immature cells in the retina. Isaac’s remaining eye will eventually have to be removed, leaving him completely blind. But back to Augustus. He also has cancer. He has osteosarcoma, which caused him to lose his leg. As time went by, she grew closer and closer to Augustus. Hazel has a thing for a book called An Imperial Affliction by Peter Van Houten. Augustus reads this book and relates to it in a major way because the main character, Anna, has a rare type of bone cancer, just like him. He finishes the book and becomes obsessed with it, just like Hazel. The conclusion of the book is cut short when the author doesn’t reveal the end of the book. Because of this, Hazel is desperate to find out what happens at the end of this book. She wishes to meet Peter Van Houten and find out personally what happens at the end of this book. When she tells Augustus about this wish, he decides to take her to Amsterdam to meet Van Houten, using a wish foundation. Unfortunately, Hazel has an major health episode, which makes her doctors tell her she isn’t healthy enough to go on the trip. She is later approved to go on the trip and takes off with her mom and Augustus. While there, Augustus and Hazel profess their love for each other.

“I’m in love with you,” he said quietly.

“Augustus,” I said.

“I am,” he said. He was staring at me, and I could see the corners of his eyes crinkling. “I’m in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things. I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.”
John Green, The Fault in Our Stars.

In the beginning of the story, Hazel is doomed to die from her cancer. But, the story makes a big 180 degree turn at then end. If you ever decide to read this book (AND ALSO WATCH THE MOVIE. DEFINITELY WATCH THE MOVIE), you will understand why I inserted this gif of Anthony Anderson.

anthony_anderson_blackish_crying.gif

Leave a Reply

